A-11

Vintage Military Watch Discussion Forum
iowafilm

A-11

#1 Post by iowafilm » Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:39 pm

I am new to watch collecting but have always wanted a World War II era watch. I found this A-11 but can't find any info on them ever having a white face. Is this worth it and does it look original?
http://forums.timezone.com/index.php?t= ... sg_7249651

C. Hurt

Re: A-11

#2 Post by C. Hurt » Sat Apr 09, 2016 4:34 am

The A-11 specification called for black dial with luminous figures, or white dial with non-luminous figures, but I will say that I have never seen a white dialed example, including this one, that I was sure was original. I do not believe the gold hands would have been correct in any case.

As these watches were military issue, there were vast quantities of standardized spare parts (including dials and hands) produced, and these were sold off as surplus when the A-17 specification superseded the A-11. These are readily available for the restoration or re-creation of these watches, and there are plenty of newly minted A-11 watches on the market, made up from surplus and/or counterfeit parts, or various combinations of these. There are also outright fakes openly sold. You are wise to be careful.

GeneJockey

#3 Post by GeneJockey » Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:38 am

C. Hurt wrote:The A-11 specification called for black dial with luminous figures, or white dial with non-luminous figures, but I will say that I have never seen a white dialed example, including this one, that I was sure was original. I do not believe the gold hands would have been correct in any case.