Unsigned Mechanism from Antique Shop... What is it?

Vintage Pocket Watch Discussion Forum
NJenkins13

Unsigned Mechanism from Antique Shop... What is it?

#1 Post by NJenkins13 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:37 am

I'm new to vintage watches (as of today), and just brought an unsigned watch impulsively from an Antique shop, for 50p (I thought it seemed a good deal!). The mechanism functions perfectly well, and I think works from spinning movement (automatic). I can't work out if it needs a key to adjust the time, or if the crown has snapped off - it's difficult to see inside the hole.

The only text on the entire item if 'Fast' and 'Slow' written in a serif font to adjust the speed. There appears to be a 'two-tone' wave pattern on the middle of the face, which alternates between 'spiky' peaks and sooth waves (very small). In the seconds dial, I think the letter 'A' may be printed at the bottom, and other letters may have been printed around the dial, where much of the details have rubbed off.

I know nothing of the origins of the watch - it's possible it's missing pieces that show a brand/ name - the face is metal, possibly silver or brass.

Can anyone help me work out what this is?! Pictures attached.
IMG_2152.JPG
IMG_2152.JPG (789.55 KiB) Viewed 616 times
IMG_2153.JPG
IMG_2153.JPG (1.01 MiB) Viewed 616 times
IMG_2154.JPG
IMG_2154.JPG (1.21 MiB) Viewed 616 times
IMG_2155.JPG
IMG_2155.JPG (1.19 MiB) Viewed 616 times
IMG_2156.JPG
IMG_2156.JPG (1.13 MiB) Viewed 616 times

Tags:

JerseyMo

Re: Unsigned Mechanism from Antique Shop... What is it?

#2 Post by JerseyMo » Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:36 pm

well it is not an automatic. likely a very generic Swiss made stem wind and set pocket watch movement. for what amounts to about 64 cents US I may have bought it to just to have on hand.
would be a good movement to practice taking apart and putting back together.